X Close Panel
LOGIN / LOGOUT

Dancehall Fundamentals


This class is taught by:

Aimee Zawitz

Aimee Rose Zawitz is a proud native San Franciscan and a lifelong passionate dancer. She believes life is a dance and no matter what you are doing you can alway employ the mentality of a dancer: strength, grace, creativity, and energy.

She specializes in Jamaican Dancehall, Indian Bhangra and Bollywood, Brazilian Samba, Haitian Folklore, and dabbles in Cuban Salsa and folkloric dance.


Aimee currently teaches all around the Bay Area including with youth leadership program Loco Bloco; directs her own dance company, The QuintEssentials; is part of D.A.M. Daring Arts Movement, a performance artist collective; as well as a dancer for Joti Singh's Duniya Dance & Drum Company SF, Kiss Kiss' On Fire Gyals Kingston, JA, and Queen Latesha Promotion Kingston, JA.

In the past, Aimee has danced with Valerie Watson's Alafia Dance Ensemble, Djenane St. Juste's Afoutayi, Temistocles Bentancourt's Grupo Nago Experimental, Susana Arena Pedroso's Dance Company, Katy Barnhill Rous' World Dance Fusion, Tanilee Amor's Amor Do Samba, and was a featured dancer with the band Alta California.

Dancehall Fundamentals gets back to basics.
 
You will learn foundational steps of dancehall both old school and new. 
 
This class is a great foundation for the dancehall choreography class that follows. 

Upcoming classes:

  • Mon Oct 23 8:00 pm - 9:00 pm with Aimee Zawitz
    at Town Fitness
  • Mon Oct 30 8:00 pm - 9:00 pm with Aimee Zawitz
    at Town Fitness
  • Mon Nov 06 8:00 pm - 9:00 pm with Aimee Zawitz
    at Town Fitness
  • Mon Nov 13 8:00 pm - 9:00 pm with Aimee Zawitz
    at Town Fitness
  • Mon Nov 20 8:00 pm - 9:00 pm with Aimee Zawitz
    at Town Fitness
  • Mon Nov 27 8:00 pm - 9:00 pm with Aimee Zawitz
    at Town Fitness
  • Mon Dec 04 8:00 pm - 9:00 pm with Aimee Zawitz
    at Town Fitness
  • Mon Dec 11 8:00 pm - 9:00 pm with Aimee Zawitz
    at Town Fitness
  • Mon Dec 18 8:00 pm - 9:00 pm with Aimee Zawitz
    at Town Fitness
  • Mon Dec 25 8:00 pm - 9:00 pm with Aimee Zawitz
    at Town Fitness
  • Mon Jan 01 8:00 pm - 9:00 pm with Aimee Zawitz
    at Town Fitness
  • Mon Jan 08 8:00 pm - 9:00 pm with Aimee Zawitz
    at Town Fitness
  • Mon Jan 15 8:00 pm - 9:00 pm with Aimee Zawitz
    at Town Fitness
  • Mon Jan 22 8:00 pm - 9:00 pm with Aimee Zawitz
    at Town Fitness
  • Mon Jan 29 8:00 pm - 9:00 pm with Aimee Zawitz
    at Town Fitness
  • Mon Feb 05 8:00 pm - 9:00 pm with Aimee Zawitz
    at Town Fitness
  • Mon Feb 12 8:00 pm - 9:00 pm with Aimee Zawitz
    at Town Fitness
  • Mon Feb 19 8:00 pm - 9:00 pm with Aimee Zawitz
    at Town Fitness